Every Word Matters

Brightest of the Bright. In the Amaranthine Saga, the most powerful reavers are given “beacon” status. This is more about rank than specialties. So a beacon might belong to any of the various reaver classifications. Or not.

In Tamiko and the Two Janitors (Amaranthine Saga, #3), we learn that Argent Mettlebright has become something of an expert where reavers are concerned.

In my capacity as a member of the Amaranthine Council, I have personally met sixteen of the world’s beacons.”
“How many are there?” asked Joe.
“Officially? Twenty.” Argent inspected his claws, though he was actually focused on calming his tails. They felt as puffed as a squirrel’s. Far from dignified. “By longstanding tradition, only the twenty brightest souls alive can attain the title. However, Glint Starmark recently redefined and expanded the classification to account for perennial members … and to respectfully retire reavers who have reached the limit of their legacy.”
Kip leaned forward. “Perennial members?”
“More than half of the beacons alive today are either tree-kin like Joe’s sister or bound to an Amaranthine partner.” Argent smiled thinly. “The former still do their part, if sporadically, but the latter muddle Glint’s precious pedigrees by mingling species. He has opened the rank to new blood, provided they are adding to their legacy.”

Fun Fact: In Fumiko and the Finicky Nestmate (Amaranthine Saga, #5), you’ll be meeting one of those perennial members of the beacon rank. ::twinkle::

One thought on “Every Word Matters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.